At the height of the Great Depression, a Mohegan named John Tantaquidgeon decided to build a dream. Although blind in one eye and on crutches, he and his children, Gladys and Harold, founded the Tantaquidgeon Indian Museum in 1931. Since that time, visitors have traveled here from around the world to experience the spirit of the Mohegans and the beauty of Native America. Featuring eastern woodland Indian artifacts, the museum’s mission is to showcase objects from a Native American perspective.
The Tantaquidgeon Museum's parking address is 1 Church Lane, Uncasville, Connecticut, the museum is just across the street. It is operated by the Mohegan Tribe and tours are conducted by Mohegan Tribal members.
To view some of the artifacts at the museum please click here.
The Tantaquidgeon Museum Turns 90